As a cooperative financial institution, Mainstreet Credit Union is owned by its members and is governed by a Board of Directors elected by our membership. The Board is accountable for directing the affairs of the credit union in the best interest of the membership, following governing legislation by-laws and policy, in order to achieve the goals and objectives of the credit union.

Each year at the Annual General Meeting, the member-owners elect a Board of Directors to represent them and provide governance for the credit union throughout the year. Mainstreet's Board is made up of nine directors who are elected for a 3-year term. Once elected by the member-owners, the Board of Directors is responsible for the overall governance of the credit union.

The President and Chief Executive Officer is hired by the Board to oversee the day-to-day operations of the credit union. Board and Management are responsible for establishing the operational standards, strategic plans and objectives to ensure the credit union remains economically viable and an attractive financial solution for member-owners.

2023-2024 Mainstreet Board of Directors

At Mainstreet, the board appoints directors and staff to be sub-committees which have separate areas of responsibilities, part of which is to make regular reports and recommendations to the Board.

Tomo Matesic, Chair

Tomo Matesic

Jen Denys, Vice Chair

Jen Denys

Vice Chair
Darrin Canniff, Director

Darrin Canniff

Grant Dawson, Director

Grant Dawson

Sam Hill, Director

Sam Hill

Paul Dhaen, Director

Paul Dhaen

Paul Harris, Director

Paul Harris

Pat O'Malley, Director

Pat O'Malley

Chris Cowell, Director

Chris Cowell


Experience cooperative banking that is
Invested in you.