Board of Directors

As a cooperative financial institution, Mainstreet Credit Union is owned by its members and is governed by a nine-member Board of Directors elected by our membership. The Board is accountable for directing the affairs of the credit union in the best interest of the membership, following governing legislation by-laws and policy, in order to achieve the goals and objectives of the credit union.

Each year at the Annual General Meeting, the member-owners elect a Board of Directors to represent them and provide governance for the credit union throughout the year. Mainstreet's Board is made up of nine directors who are elected for a 3-year term. Once elected by the member-owners, the Board of Directors is responsible for the overall governance of the credit union.

The President and Chief Executive Officer is hired by the Board to oversee the day to day operations of the credit union. Board and Management are responsible for establishing the operational standards, strategic plans and objectives to ensure the credit union remains economically viable and an attractive financial solution for member-owners.

Your Current Mainstreet Board of Directors

Director Name

Position on Board

Pat O’Malley


Paul Harris

Vice Chair

Darrin Canniff

Audit Chair

Jan Anderson


Saverio Coccozoli


Steve Kay


Shaun Larocque


Joanne Brunk


Lawrence Lassaline


At Mainstreet, the Board appoints directors and staff to sub-committees which have separate areas of responsibilities, part of which is to make regular reports and recommendations to the Board.

2017 Key Dates

Call for nominations begins December 18, 2016
Deadline to submit nominations February 17, 2017
Nominees confirmed as candidates February 2017
2017 Election March 27-April 9, 2017
AGM - Meeting & Agenda Details April 18, 2017

Online voting will begin on March 27, 2017.

Learn more about the candidates running for election.

If you are looking for further information on becoming a Director please contact April Williams, CHRL, Vice President, Human Resources & Governance at 519.464.5500 or